Sandra Mataq Frye

Remembrance Quilt Block, made for the Social Justice Sewing Academy: Sandra “Mataq” Frye (26) was found in Jan, 2018 fatally wounded on the tundra, near the town in Alaska where she lived. She is survived by her 4 children. Mataq is her Yupik or native name. Babies are given names of recently passed relatives at birth. She was a fun person to be around. She had a close relationship with her sister and mother. When I look at her picture, she makes me smile and wish I had known her. I learned a lot about living on the tundra during my research. Her town, Nunapitchik, has no streets. Boardwalks are used. When you step off the boardwalk the land is a muddy swampy area. The waters and sky are a variety of greys in all the photos I found. The background colors are tundra colors, the frame around her is the wrong side of wood plank fabric representing the boardwalks. “SANDRA FRYE” letters are done with Color Catchers representing the sky and water colors. “MATAQ” letters are in fabric which reflects her skin tones.

One thought on “Sandra Mataq Frye

Leave a comment