Pretend Empty Spools Seminars: Days 1 and 2

Life is different for everyone because of Covid-19. We are all staying at home as much as possible. Many people have learned a lot of things we never thought of learning or even wanted to learn. I had never even heard of Zoom and didn’t know Facebook Live! existed. Now they are a regular occurrence in our household.

Also many events have just been cancelled. One of those is the Empty Spools Seminars https://www.emptyspoolsseminars.com/at Asilomar, in Pacific Grove, CA. I was scheduled to be there in a class led by Pam Holland https://iampamholland.com/ on Thread Painting Portraits. That’s not happening but. . .

Another art quilter I admire and follow, Susan Carlson https://susancarlson.com/, began doing on-line demos called Thursday Night in My Studio Live! So I took all 4 offered so far. Then I signed up for the Spiral e-Workshop. So. . .

This week I am doing my own Pretend Empty Spools Seminar. I am following the daily schedule. Each evening is for Show and Tell, so I am doing a blog post each night so you can see my progress.

I arrived a little late last night (Day 1) because I made dinner for the family, but the rest of the dinners I have prepared and they are frozen. All we have to do is make a salad each night.

I asked my Alexa to play ocean sounds, which she kindly did. So with local Monterey Bay ambiance provided, I began my Pretend Empty Spools Seminar.

Day 1, was drawing a spiral and selecting my palette from my stash.

Day 2, I cut out small pieces from my chosen fabrics in order to have a palette in a manageable size. As began working I found I still needed to cut more but it was a start.

4 Hours cutting small, odd shapes.

I began filling in the spiral. Here’s my progress by the end of the day 2.

See you tomorrow!

One thought on “Pretend Empty Spools Seminars: Days 1 and 2

  1. Pingback: The Fabric Collage Finish Line: Online Submissions 7 | Susan Carlson Quilts

Leave a comment